Cathedrals are not just tourist destinations but places that can convey a sense of the spiritual and sacred, even to those who are not of the Christian faith

The Church of England is divided into 43 dioceses which are regional, geographical areas. Southwark Cathedral is the Mother Church of the Diocese of Southwark which stretches from Kingston-upon-Thames in the west to Thamesmead in the east and Gatwick Airport in the south. 

As a Cathedral, it is the place where the Bishop has his Chair (cathedra) and where major celebrations of life and faith take place all the time.

The Cathedral is led by a Dean with five Residentiary Canons whose primary responsibility is to maintain the tradition of prayer and worship on this site which began in the 7th century.  They work in and serve the diocese and support the Diocesan Bishop in his ministry.

For further information on English Cathedrals please visit the Association of English Cathedrals website here

(c) Diocese of Southwark