London Concertante - Vivaldi The Four Seasons by Candlelight

  • Venue


  • Time

    7:30 PM

  • Price

    £19.00 - £32.00

  • Book Tickets

Headlined by Vivaldi’s eternal masterpieces, the ensemble present an accompanying programme bursting with classical treats and hidden gems!

Travel between rural rivers of England and the exotic canals of Venice in this concert of two halves.  The concert is headlined by the Italian maestro's well known Baroque masterpiece, The Four Seasons.  Originally accompanied by sonnets and inspired by paintings of each season by Marco Ricci, hear how Vivaldi plays with the textures and colours of the ensemble to evoke each of the seasons.

Return to the sounds of Shropshire with the Folk inspired Introduction & Allegro by arguably England's most successful composer, Sir Edward Elgar.  This is followed Vaughan Willliams' Lark Ascending, inspired, like Vivaldi, by the arts, in particular English born George Meredith and his poem of the same name.  The poem, and equally the music, conjure thoughts of the fleeting birds and the rolling hills.  Come and find out for yourself just why this stunning piece of music is continually listed in Classic FM's Hall of Fame each year.

If you don’t consider yourself ‘in the know’ about Mozart, Beethoven, or Bach, fear not, this is the orchestra for you. The London Concertante boasts an impressive audience record in which an impressive 50% of spectators are first time classical concert goers! The London Concertante has its audience laughing at jokes, gasping at virtuosity, moved by gorgeous string playing, and leaving with a smile on their faces.


Vivaldi - The Four Seasons

Elgar - Introduction & Allegro

Vaughan-Williams - The Lark Ascending

Please note, tickets for this concert are not available from Southwark Cathedral.