City of London Sinfonia - Restore and Revive: Strauss and Mozart

  • Venue


  • Time

    2:00 PM

  • Price

    £1.00 - £10.00

  • Book Tickets

Music for woodwind and brass by Richard Strauss and Mozart feature in our Restore and Revive finale at Southwark Cathedral

In this City of London Sinfonias series finale, you can look forward to music that has been "handpicked" by our wind principals, including Richard Strauss' Suite for Winds and Mozart's Sonata in F. You’ll also be able to follow the music round the Cathedral as pieces are performed in different positions.

MOZART arr. Poole Sonata in F
A. BEACH Pastorale for Wind Quintet, Op.151
CECILIA MCDOWALL Subject to the Weather
R. STRAUSS Suite for Winds in B-flat, Op.4

City of London Sinfonia winds

The performances (2pm and 7pm) will be presented in our usual seriously informal style. Audience members will be able to roam around the Cathedral and experience the music in varying acoustics around the Gothic and Romanesque building, and pre-booked bubbles of chairs are also available in the Nave.

Safety measures, such as social distancing and wearing masks, are being put into place for everyone's safety. Tickets must be booked in advance.