London Concertante - Vivaldi The Four Seasons by Candlelight

  • Venue


  • Time

    7:30 PM

  • Price

    £19.00 - £32.00

  • Book Tickets

Join London Concertante for a programme full of classical treats from across Europe, with a fantastic filling of Romantic Russian delights


  • Bach - Brandenburg Concerto No. 3
  • Tchaikovsky - Serenade for Strings
  • Arensky - Variation on a theme by Tchaikovsky
  • Vivaldi - "Autumn" & "Winter" from the Four Seasons 

London Concertante is one of the finest chamber ensembles in the country, its players brought together through a shared passion for chamber music. The group has the rare ability to combine flexibility of instrumental grouping and consistently maintain superb artistic endeavour. With an enviable array of critical acclaim, a stunning selection of recordings on such prestigious labels as Chandos, Toccata Classics and Harmonia Mundi, and performances throughout the UK and Europe, London Concertante rightfully claims its position at the forefront of classical performers in the UK.

This Russian musical sandwich features bread and butter from two of the most highly regarded pieces of the Baroque period: Bach’s Brandenburg Concerto No. 3 and Vivaldi’s Four Seasons.  Renowned for its instrumental innovation, the opening work of the concert was originally scored without violins, although modern adaptations require their addition.  The work features and interesting second movement, leaving all but two chords open for complete interpretation by the evenings sensational musicians.  The filling contains the heart wrenching and hauntingly romantic Serenade for Strings, by one of the most well-known Russian composers, Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky, with its longing tenderness in the opening melody, contrasting athletic and joyous middle, and a luxuriously melancholic ending.  The piece continues in its exceptional creation with an array of emotions and feelings throughout, taking the listener (and the performers) on a roller-coaster ride of stunning melodies and magical harmonies. Followed with a work by another Russian composer, Anton Arensky’s Variations take a popular tune by Tchaikovsky and rework it with true Russian Romanticism, where each variation unfolds full of intimacy, elegance and passion.

If you don’t consider yourself ‘in the know’ about Mozart, Beethoven, or Bach, fear not, this is the orchestra for you. The London Concertante boasts an impressive audience record in which an impressive 50% of spectators are first time classical concert goers! The London Concertante has its audience laughing at jokes, gasping at virtuosity, moved by gorgeous string playing, and leaving with a smile on their faces.

“Beautifully played and so enchanting, I fell in love as soon as I heard them play”

- A happy audience member (September 2017)

“Thoroughly enjoyed the wonderful music and comedy undertones… Would highly recommend to all…!”

- Another happy audience member (November 2017)

“To be relished … they let the music show the full breadth of its textures … all the light and shade you could wish.”

- Financial Times

Please note, tickets for this concert are not available from Southwark Cathedral.