Music & Preachers

 

Every effort is made to keep this page up-to-date and the information accurate. However, before attending an event at the Cathedral it is always advisable to check dates and times with the Cathedral Office on 020 7367 6700 or the contact name given.

Thursday, 14 September 2017

17.30 Evensong

Treble voices
Responses: Morley
Psalm: 150
Setting: Short service (Byrd)
Anthem: Rejoice in the Lord alway (John Redford)

Friday, 15 September 2017

17.30 Evensong

Responses: Morley
Psalm: 145
Setting: Sumsion in A
Anthem: O for a closer walk with God (Charles Villiers Stanford)

Saturday, 16 September 2017

09.00 Morning Prayer

09.15 Eucharist

16.00 Evensong

Choir of Christ Church, Southgate
Responses: Sumsion
Psalm: 148
Setting: Sumsion in G
Anthem: Give unto the Lord (Edward Elgar)

Sunday, 17 September 2017

08.30 Morning Prayer

09.00 Eucharist

11.00 Choral Eucharist

Psalm: 103 (8-13)
Setting: Darke in F
Anthems: Wash me throughly (Samuel Sebastian Wesley), Lord, for thy tender mercies' sake (John Hilton)

15.00 Evensong

Responses: Morley
Psalm: 119 (41-48)
Setting: Collegium Regale (Howells)
Anthem: Turn back, O man (Gustav Holst)

18.00 Service of Wholeness and Healing

Monday, 18 September 2017

08.00 Morning Prayer

08.15 Eucharist

12.30 Midday Prayers

12.45 Eucharist

17.30 Evensong

Responses: Shephard
Psalm: 4
Setting: Rubbra in A flat
Anthem: I sat down under his shadow (Edward Bairstow)

Tuesday, 19 September 2017

17.30 Evensong

Responses: Morley
Psalm: 122
Setting: Harwood in A flat
Anthem: How lovely are the messengers (Feilx Mendelssohn)

Wednesday, 20 September 2017

17.30 Evening Prayer

Thursday, 21 September 2017

17.30 Evening Prayer

Friday, 22 September 2017

17.30 Evensong

Men's voices
Responses: Moore
Psalm: 22
Setting: Fauxbourdons (Philip Moore)
Anthem: The Lord is King (William Boyce)

Saturday, 23 September 2017

09.00 Morning Prayer

09.15 Eucharist

16.00 Evening Prayer

Sunday, 24 September 2017

08.30 Morning Prayer

18.00 Compline and Eucharistic Devotions

Merbecke Choir
Setting: Nunc dimittis: Wood in G
Anthems: Salve Regina (Orlande de Lassus), There is an old belief (Hubert Parry)

Monday, 25 September 2017

08.00 Morning Prayer

08.15 Eucharist

12.30 Midday Prayers

12.45 Eucharist

17.30 Evensong

Responses: Rawsthorne
Psalm: 28
Setting: Murrill in E
Anthem: Tune me, O Lord (Christopher Gower)

Tuesday, 26 September 2017

17.30 Evensong

Responses: Rose
Psalm: 33 (1-12)
Setting: Wise in F
Anthem: Turn back, O man (Gustav Holst)

Wednesday, 27 September 2017

17.30 Evensong

King Edward School, Whitley
Responses: Sanders
Psalm: 119 (33-40)
Setting: Collegium Regale
Anthem: Evening Hymn (Balfour Gardiner)

Thursday, 28 September 2017

17.30 Evensong

Treble voices
Responses: Plainsong
Psalm: 91 (1-8)
Setting: Rawsthorne in F
Anthem: Litany to the Holy Spirit (Peter Hurford)

Friday, 29 September 2017

17.30 Evensong

Responses: Rose
Psalm: 138
Setting: Stanford in B flat
Anthem: War in heaven (Neil Cox)

Saturday, 30 September 2017

09.00 Morning Prayer

09.15 Eucharist

16.00 Evening Prayer

Sunday, 1 October 2017

08.30 Morning Prayer

09.00 Eucharist

11.00 Choral Eucharist

Psalm:
Setting:
Anthems:

18.00 Eucharist - Traditional Rite

Monday, 2 October 2017

08.00 Morning Prayer

08.15 Eucharist

12.30 Midday Prayers

12.45 Eucharist

17.30 Evensong

Responses:
Psalm: 
Setting:
Anthem: 

Tuesday, 3 October 2017

17.30 Evensong

Responses: 
Psalm: 
Setting: 
Anthem: 

Wednesday, 4 October 2017

17.30 Evening Prayer

Thursday, 5 October 2017

17.30 Evening Prayer

Friday, 6 October 2017

17.30 Evensong

Saturday, 7 October 2017

09.00 Morning Prayer

09.15 Eucharist

16.00 Choral Evensong


Responses: 
Psalm: 
Setting: 
Anthem: 

Sunday, 8 October 2017

08.30 Morning Prayer

09.00 Eucharist

11.00 Choral Eucharist

Psalm:
Setting: 
Anthems: 

15.00 Evensong

Responses:
Psalm: 
Setting: 
Anthem: 

Monday, 9 October 2017

08.00 Morning Prayer

08.15 Eucharist

12.30 Midday Prayers

12.45 Eucharist

17.30 Evensong

Responses: 
Psalm: 
Setting: 
Anthem: 

Tuesday, 10 October 2017

17.30 Evensong

Responses: 
Psalm: 
Setting: 
Anthem: 

Thursday, 12 October 2017

17.30 Evensong

Responses: 
Psalm: 
Setting: 
Anthem: 

Friday, 13 October 2017

17.30 Evensong

17.30 Evensong

Responses: 
Psalm: 
Setting: 
Anthem: 

Saturday, 14 October 2017

09.00 Morning Prayer

16.00 Evensong

Responses: 
Psalm: 
Setting: 
Anthem: 

Sunday, 15 October 2017

08.30 Morning Prayer

09.00 Eucharist

15.00 Evensong

Responses: 
Psalm: 
Setting: 
Anthem: 

18.00 Service of Wholeness and Healing

Monday, 16 October 2017

08.00 Morning Prayer

08.15 Eucharist

12.30 Midday Prayers

12.45 Eucharist

17.30 Evensong

Responses: 
Psalm: 
Setting: 
Anthem: 

Tuesday, 17 October 2017

17.30 Evensong

Responses: 
Psalm: 
Setting: 
Anthem: 

Wednesday, 18 October 2017

17.30 Evensong

Responses: 
Psalm: 
Setting: 
Anthem: 

Thursday, 19 October 2017

17.30 Evensong

Responses: 
Psalm: 
Setting: 
Anthem: 

Friday, 20 October 2017

17.30 Evensong

Responses: 
Psalm: 
Setting: 
Anthem: 

Saturday, 21 October 2017

09.00 Morning Prayer

09.15 Eucharist

09.00 Morning Prayer

09.15 Eucharist

16.00 Evensong

Sunday, 22 October 2017

08.30 Morning Prayer

09.00 Eucharist

11.00 Choral Eucharist - Harvest

Psalm: 
Setting: 
Anthems: 

15.00 Evensong

Responses: 
Psalm: 
Setting: 
Anthem: 

18.00 Compline and Eucharistic Devotion

Monday, 23 October 2017

08.00 Morning Prayer

08.15 Eucharist

12.30 Midday Prayers

12.45 Eucharist

17.30 Evening Prayer

Saturday, 28 October 2017

09.00 Morning Prayer

09.15 Eucharist

16.00 Evening Prayer

Sunday, 29 October 2017

08.30 Morning Prayer

09.00 Eucharist

11.00 Choral Eucharist

Psalm: 
Setting: 
Anthems: 

18.00 Compline

Monday, 30 October 2017

08.00 Morning Prayer

08.15 Eucharist

12.30 Midday Prayers

12.45 Eucharist

17.30 Evensong

Responses: 
Psalm: 
Setting: 
Anthem: