Music & Preachers

 

Every effort is made to keep this page up-to-date and the information accurate. However, before attending an event at the Cathedral it is always advisable to check dates and times with the Cathedral Office on 020 7367 6700 or the contact name given.

Monday, 17 July 2017

08.00 Morning Prayer

08.15 Eucharist

12.30 Midday Prayers

12.45 Eucharist

17.30 Evening Prayer

 

Tuesday, 18 July 2017

08.00 Morning Prayer

12.30 Midday Prayers

12.45 Eucharist

17.30 Evening Prayer

 

Wednesday, 19 July 2017

08.00 Morning Prayer

08.15 Eucharist

12.30 Midday Prayers

12.45 Eucharist

17.30 Evening Prayer

Thursday, 20 July 2017

08.00 Morning Prayer

08.15 Eucharist

12.30 Midday Prayers

12.45 Eucharist

17.30 Evening Prayer

Friday, 21 July 2017

08.00 Morning Prayer

08.15 Eucharist

12.30 Midday Prayers

12.45 Eucharist

17.30 Evening Prayer

 

Saturday, 22 July 2017

09.00 Morning Prayer

09.15 Eucharist

16.00 Evensong

RSCM Voices South
Responses: Rose
Psalm: 63
Setting: St John's service (Howells)
Anthem: Veni sponsa Christi (Tomas Luis da Victoria)

Sunday, 23 July 2017

08.30 Morning Prayer

09.00 Eucharist

11.00 Choral Eucharist

Surrey Cantata
Psalm: 86 (11-end)
Setting: Missa secunda (Sebastian Forbes)
Anthems: Cantantibus organis (Peter Philips), The call (Ralph Vaughan Williams)

15.00 Evensong

Surrey Cantata
Responses: Ayleward
Psalm: 67
Setting: Vann in E minor
Anthem: Laudibus in sanctis (William Byrd)

18.00 Compline and Eucharistic Devotion

Merbecke Choir
Setting: Nunc dimittis: Tye
Anthems: Ave Maria (Jacques Arcadelt), Ave verum corpus (William Byrd)

Monday, 24 July 2017

08.00 Morning Prayer

08.15 Eucharist

12.30 Midday Prayers

12.45 Eucharist

17.30 Evening Prayer

 

Tuesday, 25 July 2017

08.15 Eucharist

12.30 Midday Prayers

12.45 Eucharist

17.30 Evening Prayer

Wednesday, 26 July 2017

08.00 Morning Prayer

08.15 Eucharist

12.30 Midday Prayers

12.45 Eucharist

17.30 Evening Prayer

Thursday, 27 July 2017

08.00 Morning Prayer

12.30 Midday Prayers

17.30 Evening Prayer

Friday, 28 July 2017

08.00 Morning Prayer

08.15 Eucharist

12.30 Midday Prayers

12.45 Eucharist

17.30 Evening Prayer

Saturday, 29 July 2017

09.00 Morning Prayer

09.15 Eucharist

16.00 Evensong

Combined Choirs of St Andrew's & St Mark's, Surbiton and St Matthew's, Surbiton
Responses: Reading
Psalm: 148
Setting: Wood in E flat (no.2)
Anthem: They that go down to the sea in ships (Herbert Sumsion)

Sunday, 30 July 2017

08.30 Morning Prayer

09.00 Eucharist

11.00 Choral Eucharist

Vivamus
Psalm: 119 (129-136)
Setting: Missa Brevis (Walton)
Anthems: Holy is the true light (William Harris), Faire is the heaven (William Harris)

15.00 Choral Evensong

Vivamus
Responses: Byrd
Psalm: 75
Setting: Second service (Gibbons)
Anthem: Pied Beauty (Richard Sisson)

18.00 Compline

Monday, 31 July 2017

08.00 Morning Prayer

08.15 Eucharist

12.30 Midday Prayers

12.45 Eucharist

17.30 Evening Prayer

Tuesday, 1 August 2017

08.00 Morning Prayer

08.15 Eucharist

12.30 Midday Prayers

12.45 Eucharist

17.30 Evening Prayer

Wednesday, 2 August 2017

08.00 Morning Prayer

08.15 Eucharist

12.30 Midday Prayers

12.45 Eucharist

17.30 Evensong

Kampen Boys’ Choir, Netherlands
Responses: Peter Nardone
Psalm: 11
Setting: Noble in B minor
Anthems: Ubi caritas (Ola Gjeilo), Set me as a seal (William Walton)

Thursday, 3 August 2017

17.30 Evening Prayer

Saturday, 5 August 2017

09.00 Morning Prayer

09.15 Eucharist

16.00 Evensong

St Hild's Singers
Responses: Sanders
Psalm: 99
Setting: Stanford in G
Anthem: Beati quorum via (Charles Villiers Stanford)

Sunday, 6 August 2017

08.30 Morning Prayer

09.00 Morning Prayer

09.00 Eucharist

11.00 Choral Eucharist

St Hild's Singers
Psalm: 97 (1-6)
Setting: Missa O quam gloriosum (Victoria)
Anthems: Let all mortal flesh keep silence (Edward Bairstow), Holy is the true light (William Harris)

15.00 Evensong

St Hild's Singers
Responses: Sanders
Psalm: 72
Setting: Collegium Regale (Howells)
Anthem: Panis angelicus (Cesar Franck)

18.00 Eucharist - Traditional Rite

Setting: Merbecke

Monday, 7 August 2017

08.00 Morning Prayer

08.15 Eucharist

12.30 Midday Prayers

12.45 Eucharist

17.30 Evening Prayer

Wednesday, 9 August 2017

17.30 Evensong

Choir of St Andrew's Cathedral, Aberdeen
Responses: Radcliffe
Psalm: 119 (33-56)
Setting: Stanford in A
Anthem: Like as the hart (Herbert Howells)

Thursday, 10 August 2017

17.30 Evening Prayer

Saturday, 12 August 2017

09.00 Morning Prayer

09.15 Eucharist

16.00 Evening Prayer

Sunday, 13 August 2017

08.30 Morning Prayer

09.00 Eucharist

11.00 Choral Eucharist

St Paul's Singers
Psalm: 85 (8-13)
Setting: Addington service (Richard Shephard)
Anthems: Psalm 46, God so loved the world (John Stainier)

15.00 Evensong

<p> St Paul&#39;s Singers<br /> Responses: Plainsong<br /> Psalm: 86<br /> Setting: Stanford in C<br /> Anthem: And I saw a new heaven (Edgar Bainton)</p>

15.00 Evensong

St Paul's Singers
Responses: Plainsong
Psalm: 86
Setting: Stanford in C
Anthem: And I saw a new heaven (Edgar Bainton)

Monday, 14 August 2017

08.00 Morning Prayer

08.15 Eucharist

12.30 Midday Prayers

12.45 Eucharist

17.30 Evening Prayer

Thursday, 17 August 2017

17.30 Evensong

Choir of St Bartholomew's, Burwash
Responses: Plainsong
Psalm: 62
Setting: Chantwise
Anthems: God be in my head (Henry Walford Davies), Surely the Lord is in this place (Herbert Colvin)

Friday, 18 August 2017

17.30 Evensong

St Paul's Singers
Responses: Plainsong
Psalm: 38
Setting: Dyson in C minor
Anthem: Locus iste (Anton Bruckner)

Saturday, 19 August 2017

09.00 Morning Prayer

09.15 Eucharist

16.00 Evening Prayer

Sunday, 20 August 2017

08.30 Morning Prayer

08.30 Morning Prayer

09.00 Eucharist

11.00 Choral Eucharist

St Paul's Singers
Psalm: 67
Setting: Addington service (Richard Shephard)
Anthems: Among us and before us (John Bell), Lead me, Lord (Samuel Sebastian Wesley)

15.00 Evensong

St Paul's Singers
Responses: Plainsong
Psalm: 90 (1-12)
Setting: Chantwise
Anthem: The Lord bless you and keep you (John Rutter)

18.00 Service of Wholeness and Healing

Monday, 21 August 2017

08.00 Morning Prayer

08.15 Eucharist

12.30 Midday Prayers

12.45 Eucharist

17.30 Evening Prayer

Saturday, 26 August 2017

09.00 Morning Prayer

09.15 Eucharist

16.00 Evening Prayer

Sunday, 27 August 2017

08.30 Morning Prayer

09.00 Eucharist

11.00 Choral Eucharist

Cambrian Singers
Psalm: 138
Setting: Missa Papae Marcelli (Palestrina)
Anthems: Tu es Petrus (Giovanni da Palestrina), Miserere mei (William Byrd)

15.00 Evensong

Cambrian Singers
Responses: Smith
Psalm: 95
Setting: Gray in F minor
Anthem: Lord, I call upon thee (Edward Bairstow)

18.00 Compline and Eucharistic Devotions

Monday, 28 August 2017

09.00 Morning Prayer

09.15 Eucharist

16.00 Evening Prayer

Tuesday, 29 August 2017

08.00 Morning Prayer

08.15 Eucharist

12.30 Midday Prayers

12.45 Eucharist

17.30 Evening Prayer

Friday, 1 September 2017

08.00 Morning Prayer

08.15 Eucharist

12.45 Eucharist

12.30 Midday Prayers

17.30 Evening Prayer

Saturday, 2 September 2017

09.00 Morning Prayer

09.15 Eucharist

16.00 Evensong

Iken Scholars
Responses: Smith
Psalm: 104
Setting: Second service (Tomkins)
Anthem: Vadam et circuibo civitatem (Tomas Luis de Victoria)

Sunday, 3 September 2017

08.30 Morning Prayer

09.00 Eucharist

11.00 Choral Eucharist

Iken Scholars
Psalm: 26 (1-8)
Setting: Missa Clementina (Alessandro Scarlatti)
Anthems: Diliges Dominum (William Byrd), O sacrum convivium (Tomas Luis de Victoria)

15.00 Evensong

Iken Scholars
Responses: Tomkins
Psalm: 105 (1-15)
Setting: Latin setting (Thomas Tallis)
Anthem: Audivi vocem de coelo (Duarte Lobo)

18.00 Eucharist - Traditional Rite

Setting: Merbecke
 

Monday, 4 September 2017

08.00 Morning Prayer

08.15 Eucharist

12.30 Midday Prayers

12.45 Eucharist

17.30 Evening Prayer

Friday, 8 September 2017

17.30 Evensong

Men's voices
Responses: Harris
Psalm: 130
Setting: Sumsion in G

Saturday, 9 September 2017

09.00 Morning Prayer

09.15 Eucharist

Sunday, 10 September 2017

08.30 Morning Prayer

09.00 Eucharist

15.00 Evensong

Great Choir
Responses: Morley
Psalm: 132 (1-9)
Setting: Dyson in D
Anthem: Rejoice in the Lord alway (Henry Purcell)

18.00 Service of Light

Monday, 11 September 2017

08.00 Morning Prayer

08.15 Eucharist

12.30 Midday Prayers

12.45 Eucharist

17.30 Evensong

Responses: Morley
Psalm: 127
Setting: Wood in E flat (no.1)
Anthem: I sat down under his shadow (Edward Bairstow)

Tuesday, 12 September 2017

17.30 Evensong

Responses: Morley
Psalm: 135 (1-12)
Setting: Daniel Purcell in E minor
Lord, for thy tender mercies' sake (John Hilton)

Wednesday, 13 September 2017

17.30 Evening Prayer

Thursday, 14 September 2017

17.30 Evensong

Treble voices
Responses: Morley
Psalm: 150
Setting: Short service (Byrd)
Anthem: Rejoice in the Lord alway (John Redford)

Friday, 15 September 2017

17.30 Evensong

Responses: Morley
Psalm: 145
Setting: Sumsion in A
Anthem: O for a closer walk with God (Charles Villiers Stanford)

Saturday, 16 September 2017

09.00 Morning Prayer

09.15 Eucharist

16.00 Evensong

Choir of Christ Church, Southgate
Responses: Sumsion
Psalm: 148
Setting: Sumsion in G
Anthem: Give unto the Lord (Edward Elgar)

Sunday, 17 September 2017

08.30 Morning Prayer

09.00 Eucharist

11.00 Choral Eucharist

Psalm: 103 (8-13)
Setting: Darke in F
Anthems: Wash me throughly (Samuel Sebastian Wesley), Lord, for thy tender mercies' sake (John Hilton)

15.00 Evensong

Responses: Morley
Psalm: 119 (41-48)
Setting: Collegium Regale (Howells)
Anthem: Turn back, O man (Gustav Holst)

18.00 Service of Wholeness and Healing

Monday, 18 September 2017

08.00 Morning Prayer

08.15 Eucharist

12.30 Midday Prayers

12.45 Eucharist

17.30 Evensong

Responses: Shephard
Psalm: 4
Setting: Rubbra in A flat
Anthem: I sat down under his shadow (Edward Bairstow)

Tuesday, 19 September 2017

17.30 Evensong

Responses: Morley
Psalm: 122
Setting: Harwood in A flat
Anthem: How lovely are the messengers (Feilx Mendelssohn)

Wednesday, 20 September 2017

17.30 Evening Prayer

Thursday, 21 September 2017

17.30 Evening Prayer

Friday, 22 September 2017

17.30 Evensong

Men's voices
Responses: Moore
Psalm: 22
Setting: Fauxbourdons (Philip Moore)
Anthem: The Lord is King (William Boyce)

Saturday, 23 September 2017

09.00 Morning Prayer

09.15 Eucharist

16.00 Evening Prayer

Sunday, 24 September 2017

08.30 Morning Prayer

18.00 Compline and Eucharistic Devotions

Merbecke Choir
Setting: Nunc dimittis: Wood in G
Anthems: Salve Regina (Orlande de Lassus), There is an old belief (Hubert Parry)

Monday, 25 September 2017

08.00 Morning Prayer

08.15 Eucharist

12.30 Midday Prayers

12.45 Eucharist

17.30 Evensong

Responses: Rawsthorne
Psalm: 28
Setting: Murrill in E
Anthem: Tune me, O Lord (Christopher Gower)

Tuesday, 26 September 2017

17.30 Evensong

Responses: Rose
Psalm: 33 (1-12)
Setting: Wise in F
Anthem: Turn back, O man (Gustav Holst)

Wednesday, 27 September 2017

17.30 Evensong

King Edward School, Whitley
Responses: Sanders
Psalm: 119 (33-40)
Setting: Collegium Regale
Anthem: Evening Hymn (Balfour Gardiner)

Thursday, 28 September 2017

17.30 Evensong

Treble voices
Responses: Plainsong
Psalm: 91 (1-8)
Setting: Rawsthorne in F
Anthem: Litany to the Holy Spirit (Peter Hurford)

Friday, 29 September 2017

17.30 Evensong

Responses: Rose
Psalm: 138
Setting: Stanford in B flat
Anthem: War in heaven (Neil Cox)

Saturday, 30 September 2017

09.00 Morning Prayer

09.15 Eucharist

16.00 Evening Prayer

Sunday, 1 October 2017

08.30 Morning Prayer

09.00 Eucharist

11.00 Choral Eucharist

Psalm: 25(1-9)
Setting: Schubert in G
Anthems: O for a closer walk with God (Charles Villiers Stanford), If ye love me (Thomas Tallis)

18.00 Eucharist - Traditional Rite

Men's voices
Setting: Three part mass (Byrd)
Anthem: Gloria tibi, Domine (Byrd), Ave verum corpus (Plainsong)

Monday, 2 October 2017

08.00 Morning Prayer

08.15 Eucharist

12.30 Midday Prayers

12.45 Eucharist

17.30 Evensong

Responses: Rawsthorne
Psalm: 47
Setting: Jackson in G
Anthem: The quality of pity (Huw Morgan)

Tuesday, 3 October 2017

17.30 Evensong

Responses: Rose
Psalm: 50 (1-15)
Setting: Dyson in F
Anthem: Surely thou hast tasted (Bernard Rose)

Wednesday, 4 October 2017

17.30 Evening Prayer

Thursday, 5 October 2017

17.30 Evening Prayer

Friday, 6 October 2017

17.30 Evensong

Men's voices
Responses: Moore
Psalm: 38
Setting: Fauxbourdons (Philip Moore)
Anthem: In manus tuas (Pedro de Cristo)

Saturday, 7 October 2017

09.00 Morning Prayer

09.15 Eucharist

16.00 Choral Evensong

New Gloriana Choir
Responses: Neary
Psalm: 66
Setting: Collegium Regale (Howells)
Anthem: God be in my head (Philip Radcliffe)

Sunday, 8 October 2017

08.30 Morning Prayer

09.00 Eucharist

11.00 Choral Eucharist

Psalm: 80 (9-17)
Setting: Mass (Stravinsky)
Anthems: Teach me, O Lord (William Btrd), Alleluia (Igor Stravinsky)

15.00 Evensong

Responses: Ayleward
Psalm: 136 (1-9)
Setting: Wise in F
Anthem: Sing joyfully (William Byrd)

Monday, 9 October 2017

08.00 Morning Prayer

08.15 Eucharist

12.30 Midday Prayers

12.45 Eucharist

17.30 Evensong

Responses: Rawsthorne
Psalm: 72 (1-7)
Setting: Rawsthorne in D
Anthem: Like as the hart (Noel Rawsthorne)

Tuesday, 10 October 2017

17.30 Evensong

Responses: Ayleward
Psalm: 74 (13-18)
Setting: Walmisley in D minor
Anthem: To this temple (Edward Bairstow)

Thursday, 12 October 2017

17.30 Evening Prayer

Friday, 13 October 2017

17.30 Evensong

17.30 Evensong

Responses: Ayleward
Psalm: 69 (1-14)
Setting: Watson in E
Anthem: O be joyful in the Lord (Benjamin Britten)

Saturday, 14 October 2017

09.00 Morning Prayer

16.00 Evensong

Choir of St John's, Shirley
Responses: Paul Spicer
Psalm: 84
Setting: Walmisley in D Minor
Anthem: Like as the hart (Herbert Howells)

Sunday, 15 October 2017

08.30 Morning Prayer

09.00 Eucharist

15.00 Evensong

Psalm: 139 (1-11)
Setting: Kelly in C
Anthem: Let all the world (Ralph Vaughan Williams)

18.00 Service of Wholeness and Healing

Monday, 16 October 2017

08.00 Morning Prayer

08.15 Eucharist

12.30 Midday Prayers

12.45 Eucharist

17.30 Evening Prayer

Tuesday, 17 October 2017

17.30 Evening Prayer

Wednesday, 18 October 2017

17.30 Evensong

Choir of Mayfield School
Responses: Rawsthorne
Psalm: 103 (1-13)
Setting: Fauxbourdons (Philip Moore)
Anthem: The Lord bless you and keep you (John Rutter)

Thursday, 19 October 2017

17.30 Evening Prayer

Friday, 20 October 2017

17.30 Evening Prayer

Saturday, 21 October 2017

09.00 Morning Prayer

09.15 Eucharist

09.00 Morning Prayer

09.15 Eucharist

16.00 Evensong

City of London Chamber Choir
Responses: Sumsion
Psalm: 104 (1-19)
Setting: Noble in B minro
Anthem: Geistliches Lied (Johannes Brahms)

Sunday, 22 October 2017

08.30 Morning Prayer

09.00 Eucharist

11.00 Choral Eucharist - Harvest

City of London Chamber Choir
Psalm: 65
Setting: Missa Sancti Nicolai (Haydn)
Anthems: Exsultate justi (Lodovico da Viadana), Ave verum corpus (Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart)

15.00 Evensong

City of London Chamber Choir
Responses: Sumsion
Psalm: 142
Setting: Antony le Fleming
Anthem: Beatus vir (Claudio Monteverdi)

18.00 Compline and Eucharistic Devotion

Merbecke Choir
Setting: Nunc dimittis: Dyson in C minor
Anthems: Lift thine eyes (Felix Mendelssohn), Tota pulchra est (Maurice Durufle)

Monday, 23 October 2017

08.00 Morning Prayer

08.15 Eucharist

12.30 Midday Prayers

12.45 Eucharist

17.30 Evening Prayer

Saturday, 28 October 2017

09.00 Morning Prayer

09.15 Eucharist

16.00 Evening Prayer

Sunday, 29 October 2017

08.30 Morning Prayer

09.00 Eucharist

11.00 Choral Eucharist

Psalm: 1
Setting: Missa de angelis (Plainsong)
Anthems: Though I speak with the tongues of men (Edward Bairstow), Ubi caritas (Maurice Durufle)

18.00 Compline

Monday, 30 October 2017

08.00 Morning Prayer

08.15 Eucharist

12.30 Midday Prayers

12.45 Eucharist

17.30 Evensong

Responses: Plainsong
Psalm: 127
Setting: Wood in E flat (no 1)
Anthem: Moher of God, here I stand (John Tavener)