Music & Preachers

 

Every effort is made to keep this page up-to-date and the information accurate. However, before attending an event at the Cathedral it is always advisable to check dates and times with the Cathedral Office on 020 7367 6700 or the contact name given.

Tuesday, 21 March 2017

08.00 Morning Prayer

08.15 Eucharist

12.30 Midday Prayers

12.45 Eucharist

17.30 Evensong

Responses: Smith
Psalm: 64
Setting: Dyson in F
Anthem: Geistliches Lied (Johannes Brahms)

Wednesday, 22 March 2017

08.00 Morning Prayer

08.15 Eucharist

12.30 Midday Prayers

12.45 Eucharist

17.30 Evening Prayer

Thursday, 23 March 2017

08.00 Morning Prayer

08.15 Eucharist

12.30 Midday Prayers

12.45 Eucharist

17.30 Evening Prayer

Friday, 24 March 2017

08.00 Morning Prayer

08.15 Eucharist

12.30 Midday Prayers

12.45 Eucharist

17.30 Evensong

Responses: Smith
Psalm: 85
Setting: Sumsion in G
Anthem: Ave maris stella (Edward Grieg)

Saturday, 25 March 2017

09.00 Morning Prayer

09.15 Eucharist

16.00 Evening Prayer

Sunday, 26 March 2017

08.30 Morning Prayer

09.00 Eucharist

15.00 Evensong

Responses: Smith
Psalm: 31 (1-9)
Setting: Short service (Causton)
Anthem: Civitas sancti tui (William Byrd)

18.00 Compline and Eucharistic Devotions

Merbecke Choir
Setting: Nunc dimittis Tallis in the Dorian mode
Anthems: Ave Regina caelorum (Alonso Lobo), Hear my prayer (Henry Purcell)

Monday, 27 March 2017

08.00 Morning Prayer

08.15 Eucharist

12.30 Midday Prayers

12.45 Eucharist

17.30 Evensong

Responses: Plainsong
Psalm: 25 (1-9)
Setting: Plainsong altermatim
Anthem: Morning Prayers (Philip Moore)

Tuesday, 28 March 2017

08.00 Morning Prayer

08.15 Eucharist

12.30 Midday Prayers

12.45 Eucharist

17.30 Evensong

Responses: Smith
Psalm: 80
Setting: Fifth service (Tomkins)
Anthem: Like as the hart (Herbert Howells)

Wednesday, 29 March 2017

08.00 Morning Prayer

08.15 Eucharist

12.30 Midday Prayers

12.45 Eucharist

17.30 Evening Prayer

Thursday, 30 March 2017

08.00 Morning Prayer

08.15 Eucharist

12.30 Midday Prayers

12.45 Eucharist

17.30 Evensong

Treble voices
Responses: Plainsong
Psalm: 94 (1-11)
Setting: Bairstow in E flat
Anthem: Miserere mei (William Byrd)

Friday, 31 March 2017

08.00 Morning Prayer

08.15 Eucharist

12.30 Midday Prayers

12.45 Eucharist

17.30 Evensong

Men's voices
Responses: Plainsong
Psalm: 16
Setting: Fauxbourdons (Causton)
Anthem: Out of the deep (Thomas Tomkins)

Saturday, 1 April 2017

09.00 Morning Prayer

09.15 Eucharist

16.00 Evening Prayer

Sunday, 2 April 2017

08.30 Morning Prayer

09.00 Eucharist

11.00 Choral Eucharist

Men's voices
Lent Prose
Setting: Meane mass (Taverner)
Anthems: O vos omnes (Giovanni Pierluigi da Palestrina), Ave verum corpus (Henri Carol)

15.00 Evensong

Men's voices
Responses: Tallis
Psalm: 30
Setting: Fauxbourdons (Holmes)
Anthem: Laboravi in gemitu meo (Antonio Caldara)

18.00 Eucharist - Trad Rite

Musica Poetica
Setting: Missa in illo tempore (Monteverde)
Anthems: Adoramus te, Christe (a 6) (Claudia Moteverdi)

Monday, 3 April 2017

08.00 Morning Prayer

08.15 Eucharist

12.30 Midday Prayers

12.45 Eucharist

17.30 Evening Prayer

Tuesday, 4 April 2017

08.00 Morning Prayer

08.15 Eucharist

12.30 Midday Prayers

12.45 Eucharist

17.30 Evening Prayer

Wednesday, 5 April 2017

08.00 Morning Prayer

08.15 Eucharist

12.30 Midday Prayers

12.45 Eucharist

17.30 Evenings Prayer

Thursday, 6 April 2017

08.00 Morning Prayer

08.15 Eucharist

12.30 Midday Prayers

12.45 Eucharist

17.30 Evening Prayer

Friday, 7 April 2017

08.00 Morning Prayer

08.15 Eucharist

12.30 Midday Prayers

12.45 Eucharist

17.30 Evening Prayer

Saturday, 8 April 2017

09.00 Morning Prayer

09.15 Eucharist

16.00 Evensong

Deansbank Singers
Responses: Tallis
Psalm: 130
Setting: Walmisley in D minor
Anthem: Christus factus est (Felice Anerio)

Sunday, 9 April 2017

08.30 Morning Prayer

09.00 Eucharist

18.00 Service of Light

Monday, 10 April 2017

08.00 Morning Prayer

08.15 Eucharist

Tuesday, 11 April 2017

08.00 Morning Prayer

08.15 Eucharist

12.30 Midday Prayers

Wednesday, 12 April 2017

08.00 Morning Prayer

08.15 Eucharist

12.30 Midday Prayers

Thursday, 13 April 2017

08.00 Morning Prayer

08.15 Eucharist

12.30 Midday Prayers

12.45 Eucharist

17.30 Evening Prayer

Friday, 14 April 2017

09.00 Morning Prayer and Litany

Saturday, 15 April 2017

09.00 Morning Prayer

09.15 Eucharist

16.00 Evening Prayer

Monday, 17 April 2017

09.00 Morning Prayer

09.15 Eucharist

16.00 Evening Prayer

Tuesday, 18 April 2017

08.00 Morning Prayer

08.15 Eucharist

12.30 Midday Prayers

12.45 Eucharist

Wednesday, 19 April 2017

08.00 Morning Prayer

08.15 Eucharist

12.30 Midday Prayers

12.45 Eucharist

17.30 Evensong

Choir of Francis Holland School
Responses: Plainsong
Psalm: 105 (1-15)
Setting: Ben Parry in A
Anthem: An Easter Sequence (Kenneth Leighton)

Thursday, 20 April 2017

08.00 Morning Prayer

08.15 Eucharist

12.30 Midday Prayers

12.45 Eucharist

17.30 Evensong

Old Royal Naval College Trinity Laban Chapel Choir
Responses: Rose
Psalm: 106 (1-12)
Setting: Stanford in A
Anthem: Te Deum (Collegium Regale) (Herbert Howells)

Friday, 21 April 2017

08.00 Morning Prayer

08.15 Eucharist

12.30 Midday Prayers

12.45 Eucharist

17.30 Evening Prayer

Saturday, 22 April 2017

09.00 Morning Prayer

09.15 Eucharist

16.00 Evensong

City of London Chamber Choir
Responses: Rose
Psalm: 14
Setting: Sumsion in G
Anthem: Most glorious Lord of Life (William Harris)

Sunday, 23 April 2017

08.30 Morning Prayer

11.00 Choral Eucharist

City of London Chamber Choir
Easter Anthems
Setting: Darke in F
Anthems: Now the green blade riseth (Field/ Shaw), Ego sum panis vivus (William Byrd)

15.00 Evensong

City of London Chamber Choir
Responses: Rose
Psalm: 111
Setting: Murrill in E
Anthem: Blessed be the God and Father (Samuel Sebastian Wesley)

18.00 Compline and Eucharistic Devotions

Merbecke Choir
Setting: Nunc Dimittis: tone iii (Palestrina)
Anthems: Regina caeli (Giovanni Croce), Ubi caritas (Maurice Durufle)

Monday, 24 April 2017

08.00 Morning Prayer

08.15 Eucharist

12.30 Midday Prayers

12.45 Eucharist

17.30 Evening Prayer

Tuesday, 25 April 2017

08.00 Morning Prayer

08.15 Eucharist

12.30 Midday Prayers

12.45 Eucharist

17.30 Evening Prayer

Wednesday, 26 April 2017

08.00 Morning Prayer

08.15 Eucharist

12.30 Midday Prayers

12.45 Eucharist

17.30 Evening Prayer

Thursday, 27 April 2017

08.00 Morning Prayer

08.15 Eucharist

12.30 Midday Prayers

12.45 Eucharist

17.30 Evening Prayer

Friday, 28 April 2017

08.00 Morning Prayer

08.15 Eucharist

12.30 Midday Prayers

12.45 Eucharist

17.30 Evensong

Men's voices
Responses: Millington
Psalm: 118
Setting: Wood in E
Anthem: While Christ lay dead (Havelock Nelson)

Saturday, 29 April 2017

09.00 Morning Prayer

09.15 Eucharist

16.00 Evensong

Choir of Melbourne Parish Church, Derbyshire
Responses: Clucas
Psalm: 66
Setting: Sumsion in G
Anthem: Dum transisset Sabbatum (John Taverner)

Sunday, 30 April 2017

08.30 Morning Prayer

09.00 Eucharist

11.00 Choral Eucharist

Easter Anthems
Setting: Missa brevis in G (Mozart)
Anthems: Haec dies (William Byrd), Christ being raised from the dead (Philip Moore)

15.00 Evensong

Responses: Rose
Psalm: 25
Setting: Dyson in D
Anthem: Dum transisset Sabbatum (John Taverner)

18.00 Compline